Literary Citizenship Festival: Select Quotes from Jen Knox

“The more I write, the more I’m noticing patterns of connectivity, as though there is a larger landscape I hadn’t planned on.”

knox

Jen Knox (’07) is a regular contributor to Fiction Southeast and the author of Don’t Tease the Elephants, a fiction chapbook with Monkey Puzzle Press. Her work has been recognized with several awards and published in over sixty print and online journals. Knox visited Otterbein and read her work on Friday, January 30 in Riley Auditorium.

“Animals are a theme that has been appearing in my writing a lot. We writers, we go through phases.”

“Writing from different perspectives, it’s fun–it’s like playing!”

“Otterbein taught me how to connect–that carries over.”

“If you’re called to do it, you really have no choice, because you’ll be miserable if you’re not doing it.”

“The more I write, the more I’m noticing patterns of connectivity, as though there is a larger landscape I hadn’t planned on.”

“Read the [literary] journals. If you know what their style is, you know whether you’ll fit in.”

Leave a Reply

