Literary Citizenship Festival: Select Quotes from Becca J. R. Lachman

“For me there’s just something so distilled about a poem that can’t hide.”

Stafford Event, September 20, 2014, ARTS/Wset, Athens, OH

Becca J. R. Lachman (’04) is author of Other Acreage (forthcoming, Gold Wake, 2015); A Ritual to Read Together: Poems in Conversation with William Stafford (ed., Woodley Press, 2013); The Apple Speaks (Cascadia, 2012). She is recipient of a 2011 Otterbein Young Alumni Award. Lachman visited Otterbein and read her work on Friday, January 30 in the Philomathean Room.

“I like to base my writings in research or overheard stories, as many writers do.”

“I had stayed away from William Stafford because I thought he was just another dead white guy I was supposed to be reader, but then I started hearing about his life–he was a conscientious objector during World War II! So was my grandpa! Before I knew it, I fell in love.”

“For me there’s just something so distilled about a poem that can’t hide.”

“Working in writing centers has opened my eyes to my own privilege.”

“I have learned ways to mother in this world.”

“What is our idea of wealth? What is our idea of success? There’s a difference between wealth and being rich. How much money do you really need to make in life?”

Leave a Reply

