Claire Lober & Sarah Carnes

“I also like to read as close to another stack of books as possible.”

First year Literary Studies and Psychology double major, Sarah Carnes, interviewed first year Literary Studies major, Claire Lober, at the Fall 2014 Literary Studies Program event, Don’t Read Alone.

Q: What do you like to read?
A: Fantasy–older books, like medieval books (King Arthur), and Neil Gaiman, author of Coraline.

Q: What did you read over the summer?
A: On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. I’ll read anything I can get my hands on that’s by Marchetta. I also read More Than This by Patrick Ness over the summer.

Q: When do you read? When are you able to?
A: I read all the time. It’s what I do in my free time.

Q: Do you find that you read differently when you’re reading for fun compared to when you’re reading for class?
A: Yes. Reading for fun is just easier, and when I read for school I feel more focused. But I always read with a pen. I like to underline and pick out quotes.

Q: Do you have a special place you like to read?
A: I’ll read anywhere. I like the quiet, though. I also like to read as close to another stack of books as possible. It helps me read whatever I’m reading at that time more quickly because there are always other books around that I’m interested in. I always want to read more.

Q: Do you know what you’d like to do with your major?
A: I want to be a literature professor.

Leave a Reply

