Sarah Carnes & Claire Lober

“I like quiet, green places with trees.”

10342773_574060919389945_5165069854727977305_n

First year Literary Studies major, Claire Lober, interviewed first year Creative Writing and Psychology double major, Sarah Carnes, at the Fall 2014 Literary Studies Program event, Don’t Read Alone.

Q: What are your favorite genres?
A: I like reading dystopias, poetry, fiction, and teen romances, as long as they are reasonable.

Q: What did you read over the summer?
A: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I loved this book. I read The Fault in Our Stars. I also read If I Stay.

Q: How do you read differently for fun rather than for class?
A: I read faster when it’s for fun. I get as much as I can out of the book. For school, I have to slow down to remember everything for quizzes. I don’t have to as much for college, but it is still faster to read for fun. I like to pull out good quotes.

Q: Where do you like to read?
A: Outside. I like quiet, green places with trees.

Q: What would you like to do with your major?
A: Within my four years at Otterbein as an English major, I want to plot the storyline for a bigger work of fiction.

Leave a Reply

