Lavonne van der Zwaag & Kari Highman

“Spirituality was always a journey of learning … I knew that when I continued asking the same questions about spirituality, I had a new direction to go in for the project.”

Sophomore Creative Writing major, Kari Highman, interviewed 2012 Alum & Fisher Prize Recipient, Lavonne van der Zwaag, at the Fall 2014 Literary Studies Program event, Don’t Read Alone.

Q: What is your writing genre preference?
A: I like to focus on nonfiction. I like it because you can be more open to being vulnerable.

Q: What was your biggest challenge as a writer and how did you overcome it?
A: My biggest challenge during the senior writing project was learning how to put memories from the past down onto paper and asking the honest questions.  As well as how to find my voice and tell a story that was healing to me.

Q: What was the process of the senior writing project like for you?
A: It was great. My original idea was a general story on spiritual aspects in life … but then it became about my personal journey instead.

Q: How did you decide to change your topic?
A: Spirituality was always very prescribed in my life growing up.  It was always a journey of learning … another step on the spiritual path.  I knew that when I continued asking the same questions about spirituality, I had a new direction to go in for the project.  Writing helped me define some of those things.

Q: How has the experience changed you as a person?
A: Now I’m more able to be comfortable with the differences and how much more of myself I was discovering … how much more “me” it had become.

Q: Any other changes you’re more comfortable with now?
A: I’m OK with the ambiguity of it all.  The whole experience was definitely a monumental moment for me.

Leave a Reply

